# STATE OF NEVADA ATHLETIC COMMISSION CHECKLIST FOR PROFESSIONAL PROMOTERS & VENUES

The following information is for review by promoters currently licensed to hold events of professional boxing, kickboxing and/or mixed martial arts in Nevada. The information is being provided solely for guidance, and does not modify any statutes, regulations, or policies of the Nevada Athletic Commission. If you have any questions or want any additional information, please contact the commission office at (702) 486-2575 or nsacinfo@boxing.nv.gov.

# 1. ADVANCE NOTICE SHEET

The advance notice needs to be submitted to the commission office. Please make sure to fill in the name and record of each contestant listed. Even if the complete card has not yet been decided, please submit a partial advance notice sheet as early as possible. The final advance notice sheet must be submitted at least **5 working days** before the show.

# Boxing Advance Notice (Purse only)

MMA Advance Notice (Show/Win)

For boxing shows, you must also submit a link to the fighters **BoxRec record** when submitting the match ups. Fight Fax records may be requested, if necessary.

For mixed martial arts (MMA) shows, the promoter must register the card at <a href="mailto:abc.mixedmartialarts.com">abc.mixedmartialarts.com</a> as soon as possible. Please do not advertise individual bouts until they have been submitted and approved by the commission.

# 2. CONTRACTS

A. Bout agreements signed by a main event contestant or a title fight contestant must be submitted to the commission office at least 5 working days before the show. All other bout agreements must be turned in at or before the weigh-in. No purse advances are to be made except for training and maintenance and then <u>only</u> with prior permission from the commission chairman. You may get a pdf version of the contract from our website on the <u>Promoter Renewal</u> page. If you use the pdf form the contract turned into the commission must have original signatures on it.

# **Sample Advance Letter**

B. If any of the contestants are to be paid by a letter of credit, a written request for approval of alternate form of payment must be received in the commission office at least 30 days before the event. A copy of the letter of credit must be submitted to the commission office immediately after being issued by the bank. All letters of credit must be made payable to the **CONTESTANT.** 

# 3. FIGHTERS, MANAGERS AND SECONDS (CORNERMEN)

All contestants will need the following items completed by noon the day before the weigh-in. If a contestant is making their professional debut or are considered comprehensive fighters there will be additional requirements.

- **1.** Application, two pictures and \$50 fee
- 2. Report of Physical Examination w/ HIV, Hepatitis B surface antigen, Hepatitis C Virus antibody, and CBC blood tests
- 3. Ophthalmologic exam
- **4.** MRI / MRA of the Brain without contrast
- **5.** Bring Federal Id. Card to the weigh in
- 6. Signed Nevada bout agreement You may contact the office to get a pdf version of the contract. If you use the pdf form the contract turned into the commission must have original signatures on it.

All seconds and managers need to be licensed if they are going to work in the corner. Only 3 licensed people may work in the corner (although up to 4 seconds may work a corner for a title bout). Also, a manager must be licensed to receive an authorized percentage paid from the contestant's purse.

- 1. Application, two pictures and \$50 fee for a second
- 2. <u>Application, two pictures and \$100 fee for a manager</u> (if you have a manager's license, you do not need a separate second's license)

# 4. CREDENTIALS

A credential list for working officials, non-working officials, other commission associates, and sanctioning body personnel will be submitted as needed. If credentials are to be used, the commission will need to know where and when they can be picked up by the officials and staff. If credentials will not be used, the officials will use their photo identification badges for admittance. The commissioners, commission staff, ringside physicians and inspectors have silver identification badges that grant them full access to all areas pertaining to the event and do not need credentials.

# 5. TICKETS

All tickets must have the following statement printed on them: "The price of this ticket includes 50 cents to support amateur unarmed combat in Nevada". The amount for amateur unarmed combat fee goes up to one dollar (\$1) per ticket if the gate exceeds \$500,000, in which case the following statement should be printed on the tickets: "The price of this ticket includes \$1 to support amateur unarmed combat in Nevada".

A list of <u>all</u> complimentary tickets issued must be kept. A certified ticket manifest must be provided. Both reports must be submitted with the ticket report and the Settlement Report so the commission staff can compute the club report. – <u>NRS 467.107 & NRS 467.108</u>

NRS 467.107 allows eight percent of the seats in the house to be issued as complimentary tickets without incurring the 8% license fee. If you want to issue tickets to a 501(c)(3) Charity please complete the Sample Charity Form and turn it in with the ticket information.

#### 6. CHECKS/FEES

An invoice will be submitted to you for the officials' pay, for which you will need to write a check to the "Nevada Athletic Commission - Officials Account" and send it to the commission at least **5 working days before the event**.

A list will be submitted for additional fees. That list will be given to you after the weigh-in for the fighters' checks. Each fighter's check must be made payable to the fighter ONLY, unless you and the fighter completes an **Assignment of Monetary Interest form**.

Please have all the checks ready 45 minutes before first fight and submit them to commission staff at ringside. You will also need to provide the commission with copies of all checks you give the commission at that time.

The following fees will be assessed:

- 1. \$100 permit fee,
- 2. 8% of paid gate,
- 3. 8% of comp tickets in excess of the allowable amount.

Pursuant to NRS 467.109 The club report/ticket reconciliation must be done within 10 days after the event. The fees must be paid within 20 days of the event. Pursuant to NRS 467.108 the ticket surcharge for amateur unarmed combat will be calculated on the club report. We will need to know who will be doing the report with the commission staff.

# 7. OFFICIALS

If the commission assigns ring officials from out-of-town to your event, you need to inform us as to where will they be staying, how their meals will be taken care of, and how they will get from the airport to the hotel and venue.

# 8. MEDICAL

Contact the paramedics and have an ambulance at the site. If the ambulance leaves the site of the program to transport an unarmed combatant to a medical facility, the program of unarmed combat must <u>not</u> continue until another ambulance is present and available. <u>NAC 467.414</u>. There must be oxygen, a first aid kit and a stretcher at ringside.

# 9. RING ANNOUNCER

The <u>ring announcer</u> must be licensed. Please let us know in advance who you will be using as a ring announcer.

# 10. **DRESSING ROOMS**

The dressing rooms need to be supplied with ice, resealable plastic bags, tables, towels and blankets. There also needs to be a sufficient amount of drinking water in the dressing rooms. Dressing rooms need to be located where there is easy access to the ring. If you have female contestants on the card, they will need to have separate dressing rooms. NAC 467.568

# 11. INSURANCE

<u>Primary</u> medical insurance on the participants must be in the minimum amount of \$50,000 per unarmed combatant. We need written confirmation of coverage before the event. We also need to know where the medical bills are to be submitted. It is the promoter's responsibility to pay any deductible and submit all medical bills with claim forms to the insurance company. <u>NRS 467.125</u> & <u>NAC 467.149</u>

#### 12. CAMERA

We will have a digital camera available at the weigh-in for those licensees who do not bring passport size photographs for their applications.

# 13. **EQUIPMENT**

The promoter must provide, or must make sure the venue provides, three tall stools for the judges, a sufficient number of stools in each corner for the seconds and inspectors, spit buckets, and ice buckets for the event. You are responsible for providing a calibrated scale for the weigh-in. Your boxing ring must meet the requirements listed in <a href="NAC 467.442">NAC 467.442</a> or your ring or fenced area must meet the requirements listed in <a href="NAC 467.7952">NAC 467.7952</a>. If you want the timekeepers to use an air horn you must provide two.

# 14. SECURITY

Security will be needed to walk the fighters to the ring and at ringside after the fight. Security also needs to be stationed at the entrance to the dressing rooms.

#### 15. **PARKING**

Parking passes will be needed for the commissioners and staff, unless ample public parking is available at the venue.

# 16. TIMES AND PLACES OF EVENTS

We will need to know the date, time and room or arena locations for the following leading up to the event:

- A. Press Conference(s), if any
- B. Rules Meeting, if any (usually held only if title bout(s) on card)
- C. Weigh-in

The commission schedules the weigh-in and normally schedules it for 5 p.m. the day before the event. With special permission the time can be changed, although all weigh-ins must be held the day before the event. The contestants will want to know where they can check their weight before the official weigh-in. There also needs to be a room close to the scale in which the doctors can perform physical examination of the contestants.

Additionally, the commission will need to know the following information:

Fight times

Order of bouts

First fight

Title fights

Television times/window

Red/Blue corner fighter assignments

#### 17. GLOVES

All gloves must be thumb-attached. The gloves for the main event fighters must be new, while all other gloves must be in new or good condition. There must be a backup pair of gloves at the commission table for each different size and brand glove used during the event.

For boxing and kickboxing bouts, eight ounce gloves are to be used for contestants weighing 135 pounds or less and ten ounce gloves for contestants weighing above 135 pounds. However, contestants weighing in over 135 but not more than 147 pounds may wear eight ounce gloves in competition if and only if both athletes agree to do so in writing on the commission bout agreement (contract).

For any title bout, the gloves for the championship contestants to select must be available at the weigh-in. There needs to be two sets of gloves for each different title fighter available at the weigh-in for the contestants to try on.

**Approved Gloves** 

**Title Fight Glove Procedure** 

# 18. DRUG AND STEROID TESTING

Every event will have fight-night drug and steroid testing of contestants. It is the responsibility of the promoter to pay for those costs. The total cost of the testing depends on the total number of bouts. The overall cost to the promoter usually runs between \$400 - \$500 per bout.

# 19. **COVID**

Submit your COVID protocols.